[geeklog-devel] About the forum spammer

Vincent Furia vfuria at gmail.com
Mon Jan 17 16:36:39 EST 2005


Texas Hold'em is type of Poker. The world poker championship in Vegas
plays Texas Hold'em. A lot of gambling sites push it, a lot of those
are sketchy, hence the need to block the text.

-Vinny


On Mon, 17 Jan 2005 21:18:50 +0100, Dirk Haun <dirk at haun-online.de> wrote:

> Found this:

>

> http://wordpress.org/support/topic.php?id=20956

>

> It's about a known case of comment spamming in weblogs. The author

> noticed that all the domains used in the comment spams resolve to the

> same IP address, 161.58.59.8

>

> And look what we just got (thanks Tom, thanks SpamX plugin!):

>

> | Please check some helpful info about<A HREF="http://internet-

> | poker.fidelityfunding.net/"> internet poker

>

> dirk at terra:dirk> ping fidelityfunding.net

> PING fidelityfunding.net (161.58.59.8): 56 data bytes

>

> The nice thing is that he's also setting up bogus "account terminated"

> pages (try the above URL).

>

> Anyway, the IP address might be another filter criterion, instead of

> having to update the blacklist all the time. Anyone wanting to write a

> SpamX module for this?

>

> MT Blacklist is lagging behind, btw. The last few spam posts were only

> caught because they contained "texas holdem" - whatever that is, but it

> appears in all those posts.

>

> bye, Dirk

>

> --

> http://www.haun-online.de/

> http://www.macosx-faq.de/

>

> _______________________________________________

> geeklog-devel mailing list

> geeklog-devel at lists.geeklog.net

> http://lists.geeklog.net/listinfo/geeklog-devel

>




More information about the geeklog-devel mailing list